Haemoglobinopathies Coordinating Centres (HCCs)

Haemoglobinopathies Coordinating Centres (HCCs)

As you may remember as part of the Sickle Cell Service Review (Haemoglobinopathy Service Review) part of the proposed changes were the introduction of Haemoglobinopathies Coordinating Centres (HCCs).

HCCs are responsible for coordinating, supporting and promoting a system-wide networked approach to the delivery of haemoglobinopathy services. HCCs aim to support hospitals in their area who have less expertise in these conditions, to make sure all patients have access to specialist advice when needed. This will involve offering training and advice to less experienced hospitals.

Below is the full list of Sickle Cell Disease Haemoglobinopathies Coordinating Centres (HCCs):

  • North West: Manchester University NHS Foundation Trust
  • North East and Yorkshire: Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • East Midlands: University Hospitals of Leicester NHS Trust
  • West Midlands: Contract currently being finalised with Trust – check back for updates
  • East London and Essex: Barts Health NHS Trust
  • South East London and South East: King’s College Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
  • West London: Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust
  • North Central London and East Anglia: University College London Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • Wessex and Thames Valley: Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • South West: University Hospitals Bristol NHS Foundation Trust

You can see the full list of HCCs including sickle cell and thalassaemia, the National Haemoglobinopathy Panel (NHP), and Specialist Haemoglobinopathies Teams (SHTs) here: Specialised Haemoglobinopathy Services